The Proteas Take On The World At The ICC Champions Trophy


The Proteas are on their way to the UK, first to compete in an ODI series against England, then to take on the world’s best cricket teams in the ICC Champions Trophy from June 1 to 18!


The ICC Champions Trophy is a One Day International cricket tournament organised by the ICC, and is the second biggest tournament in world cricket – the biggest being the World Cup, of course. The Champions Trophy is played approximately every two years over a two-week period, and involves eight of the highest ranked ODI teams.

The Proteas have only reached the final once. That was in 1998, when they were crowned champions, beating the West Indies by four wickets. They have reached the semi-finals four times.
The Proteas have just come off an amazing season, in which they have been extremely successful in all formats of the game. First they gave Australia a 5-0 whitewash beating, and went on to do the same to Sri Lanka. Then the Proteas beat New Zealand 3-2 in a closely fought series on New Zealand soil. Suffice it to say, the guys are on a high, and it showed at their recent Cricket South Africa Awards ceremony, where all the players nominated could easily have walked away with the awards; each has had such a great season.
At the press conference before leaving for England today AB de Villiers had this to say about the team and the ICC Champions Trophy: “We go there with confidence and we want to win the trophy. That’s why we’re going there.”

The Proteas take on Sri Lanka in their first match of the ICC Champions Trophy on June 3 at The Oval in London.
The Proteas take on Pakistan on June 7 at Edgebaston in Birmingham.
The Proteas take in India on the June 11 at The Oval in London.

The Proteas team we’re all pinning our ICC Champions Trophy hopes on are:
AB de Villiers (captain), Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, Faf du Plessis, JP Duminy, David Miller, Chris Morris, Wayne Parnell, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Imran Tahir, Dwaine Pretorius, Keshav Maharaj, Farhaan Behardien and Morne Morkel.
Good luck, guys! Show the rest of the teams some #ProteaFire! Bring the trophy home!