The Springbok World Cup Squad


In less than a month, the Springboks will kick-off their Rugby World Cup campaign against The All Blacks in Japan. This will be South Africa’s seventh assault on the Rugby World Cup title, being successful twice (in 1995 and in 2007).

The Springboks are unbeaten so far this season! They won the 2019 Rugby Championship contested between New Zealand, Australia, Argentina and South Africa. They started the season on fire as they thrashed Australia 35-17 in Johannesburg! They then drew their match against the All Blacks 16-16. They then handed Argentina a 46-13 beating in Salta. The Springboks then faced Argentina in Pretoria for a World Cup warm-up match. It was dubbed as a farewell match where the fans could watch the Springboks play for the final time before they head off to Japan. They beat Argentina 24-18 in that match.


Siya Kolisi


Rassie Erasmus named his 31-man squad, a strong Springbok blend led by Siya Kolisi, combining youth with experience, on Monday August, 26. The squad features three players attending their third Rugby World Cup – Frans Steyn, Tendai Mtawarira and Francois Louw – and 12 players making their second expedition, providing a spine of experience. There are five players with more than 50 caps – Eben Etzebeth, Willie le Roux, Louw, Steyn and Mtawarira, the latter being the most experienced player in the squad with 110 caps. The squad is split between 14 backs and 17 forwards and only seven players have fewer than 10 caps – Lukhanyo Am, Warrick Gelant, Herschel Jantjies, Cheslin Kolbe, Sbu Nkosi and Kwagga Smith.

Tendai Mtawarira

“I am very happy with the squad we have been able to select,” said Erasmus. “We have been developing this squad since the start of last season and in the 31 we have a good balance of established experience and some exciting youth. We set out with the goal of growing the depth of the squad and I am confident that any of this 31 can step into a play-off match at the Rugby World Cup and deliver an outstanding performance. We’ve been working towards this moment for the best part of two years and we’ve been lucky in achieving most of our goals this season,” said Erasmus. “We’ve been able to give everyone in the squad some good game time as well as develop combinations with squad rotation and not lose momentum as we go to the World Cup. But the results and performances up to now will mean nothing once we are in Japan. It is a case of back to square one; putting in the work on the training field and in the planning sessions to build on what we have achieved.”

Rassie Erasmus

“We have planned and trained to be competitive at the Rugby World Cup and the work we have done and the performances to date this year have put us into a good space,” said Erasmus. “Rugby World Cups are usually decided by small margins – a foot in touch here or a referee’s call there – but we have a very good squad that has grown into a tight unit over the past few months and we have definitely grown stronger together. I’m sure I speak for the squad when I say we can’t wait for the games to begin.”

Herschel Jantjies

The Springboks open their Rugby World Cup campaign against New Zealand in Yokohama on Saturday, 21 September before further Pool B matches against Namibia (28 September), Italy (4 October) and Canada (8 October).

The Springboks will play a final warm-up match against Japan on Friday, 6 September in Kumagaya, Japan. The team will depart for Japan on Friday afternoon.

The Springbok Rugby World Cup 2019 squad are:

Siya Kolisi (Captain) – Loose Forward

Lukhanya Am – Centre

Schalk Britz – Hooker

Damian de Allende – Centre

Lood de Jager – Lock

Faf de Klerk – Scrumhalf

Pieter-Steph du Toit – Loose Forward

Eben Etzebeth – Lock

Warrick Gelant – Fullback

Elton Jantjies – Flyhalf

Herschel Jantjies – Scrumhalf

Steven Kitshoff – Prop

Vincent Koch – Prop

Cheslin Kolbe – Wing

Jesse Kriel – Centre

Willie le Roux – Fullback

Francois Louw – Loose Forward

Frans Malherbe –  Prop

Makazole Mapimpi – Wing

Malcolm Marx – Hooker

Bongi Mbonambi – Hooker

Franco Mostert – Lock

Tendai Mtawarira – Prop

Sbu Nkosi – Wing

Trevor Nyakane – Prop

Handre Pollard – Flyhalf

Cobus Reinach – Scrumhalf

Kwagga Smith – Loose Forward

RG Snyman – Lock

Frans Steyn – Utility back

Duane Vermeulen – Loose Forward