Glitz and Glamour: SABC Summer Song of the Year Ceremony

It was all glitz and glamour at the SABC Summer Song of the Year prize handover ceremony hosted at the trendy Sound Room in Kyalami Johannesburg to honor the Top 10 SABC Summer Song finalists voted by fans across all SABC radio platforms.

SABC representatives, together with a handful of fans gathered at the chic event to celebrate in great camaraderie alongside the crème de la crème in the entertainment industry. The ceremony kicked off with a memorable performance by Mr. Serious, Musa which featured producer extraordinaire, Robbie Malinga singing the hit single, Mthande. Hip hop sensation, Kwesta followed with an equally electric performance of his hit song, ‘Ngud’ which is nominated for the MMA 16.


The SABC Summer Song of The Year is an interactive platform that gives SABC radio listeners an opportunity to vote for their favorite song which has received airplay on all 18 SABC radio stations throughout the year.  Irrespective of genre or style, the most popular song of the year appeals to a diverse audience. This year, the SABC Summer Song of the year title went to Mroza, a Maskandi artist from KZN for his hit single Van Damme. Who walks away with the coveted Award. Voted for by SABC radio listeners, Mroza won a KIA motor vehicle to the value of R250 000 and a R150 000 cash prize.

The benefit of paying a TV License was evident when Miss Thethiwe Mahlangu drove off with a brand new KIA Picanto by simply voting, and producing a valid TV License. Her prize was presented to her by SABC representative, Mr. Mfundo Ntsibande.  King Monada closed the ceremony with a breathtaking performance of his hit song Ska Bhora Moreki, which not only took second place but kept people talking over the festive season.

SABC Spokesperson Kaizer Kganyago congratulated all the top 10 artists and urged people to vote if they want their favorite song to take the title of Summer Song of the year. “As the SABC, we support local music 100% and are behind these artists who have given the listeners quality, radio friendly songs in the past year. We congratulate each one of them and encourage them to continue making good music”