The 6th Annual SA Savanna Comics' Choice Awards 2016 | People Magazine

The 6th Annual SA Savanna Comics’ Choice Awards 2016

The Savanna Comics Choice was an event not to be missed!


The press, registered comedians and other industry insiders gathered at the iconic and upmarket Johannesburg bar, Katzy’s in anticipation of big news.

joe mafela

Legendary comedian, Joe Mafela


2016 Lifetime achiever recipient


Skhumba Hlope

The announcement of the nominees for the ten categories in The 6th Annual Savanna Comics’ Choice Awards was a success. They’ll only be 10 awards up for grabs, and receiving one means your professional peers have bestowed the honour upon you. Attendees couldn’t wait to hear who had made the cut, and stood a chance to take home a coveted Waldo statuette at the main show on September 3, 2016.

The nominees are:

The Savanna Newcomer Comic:

Snooze Kambuwa

Farhan Esat

Ebenhaezer Dibakwane

Phil de Lange

Thabo Kgaphola aka Summary

 The Intermediate Comic:

Virgil Prins

Elton Mduduzi Ntuli

Glen Biderman-Pam

Yaaseen Barnes

Alfred Adriaan

 The Comics’ Pen:

Christopher Steenkamp

Kagiso Lediga

Mojak Lehoko

ZA News

Lazola Gola

The Best Friend of Comedy:

Goliath & Goliath

David Kau/Blacks Only Brand

Cape Town Comedy Club

On Fire Comedy/Jess Knauf & Jem Atkins

Gino Fernandez

 The Flying Solo Comic:

Loyiso Gola

Marc Lottering

Alan Committie

Mashabela Galane

Skhumba Hlophe

 The Non-English Comic: 

Celeste Ntuli

Skhumba Hlophe

Chris Mapane

Mashabela Galane

Collen Chepi aka SALESMAN

 The Edgars Comic Of The Year:

Loyiso Gola

Skhumba Hlophe

Boitumelo Osei-Tutu aka TUMI MORAKE

Mashabela Galane

Carvin Goldstone

The Breakthrough Award:

Skhumba Hlophe

Alfred Adriaan

Virgil Prins

Celeste Ntuli

Dillan Oliphant




Entertainment Editor I’m a self-proclaimed extrovert who enjoys life to the fullest. Also a cosmetic junkie addicted to hip-hop and reality series. What you see is what you get.

Send this to friend