Saftas 2018: Night One And Night Two

by #People

Once again South African Film And Television Awards (Saftas) have come around. The ceremony was held at Sun City on March 22 and the second night will take place on Saturday March 24.

The first night, hosted by Phat Joe, was for awards for those behind the cameras, who are as essential to the entertainment industry, although they might not be as famous as the actors.

Some of the winners included:

* Lockdown, Babalwa Carol Djieutceu for Best Achievement in Make-Up and Hairstyling – TV Drama,
* Apocalypse Now Now, Be Phat Motel Film Company for Best Short Film,
* Ses Top La 4, Chantel Nel for Best Achievement in Make-up and HairstyIng – TV Comedy,
* Tjovitjo, Ephraim Mathula & Vivienne Mahlokofor  for Best Achievement in Art / Production Design – TV Drama,
* King of the Mountain Baboons, Earth Touch (Pty) Ltd for Best Wildlife Programme,
* Isibaya, Lebogang Lehasa,Sheila Petlele & Sebenzile Madondo for Best Achievement in Wardrobe, Make-up and Hair – TV Soap/Telenovela
* and Skulls Of My People, Vincent Moloi for Best Achievement in Directing – Documentary Feature.

‘Our Stories Are Gold’ is the theme for this year’s awards and will also honour former president Nelson Mandela’s centenary.

The second night on Saturday will be broadcast live on SABC2 from 20h00. The red carpet will be hosted by Kuli Roberts and Rorisang Thandekiso, and the awards ceremony by Thando Thabethe and Phat Joe.

Safta Nominees  for March 24: Safta 2018 Nominees

Some Safta Facts And Categories:

Each year the SAFTAs celebrate and honour programmes and talent in TV Non-fiction, TV Fiction,
Feature Films, Short Films, Student Films and Animation categories.
There are currently 79 categories and the SAFTAs also honours individuals with 4 discretionary
1. Lifetime Achiever Award:
This award is presented to an experienced individual with an extensive and outstanding contribution
to South African film and television, both locally and internationally.
2. Youth Achiever Award: presented by Ster-Kinekor
This award is presented to a young individual (not older than 35 years old) who has demonstrated
excellence in their craft.
3. Outstanding Person with Disability Contributor Award:
This award is awarded to a person with a disability who has achieved excellence in the film and
television industry.
4. Outstanding Provincial Contributor Award:
This award is awarded to an outstanding individual, group or a particular initiative that has
contributed significantly towards developing the film and television industry in the respective

 Official categories:
1. Best Short Film
2. Best Student Film
3. Best AnimationTV Comedy
4. Best Achievement in Directing
5. Best Achievement in Scriptwriting
6. Best Achievement in Art / Production Design
7. Best Achievement in Make-up & Hairstyling
8. Best Achievement in Wardrobe/Costume Design
9. Best Achievement in Sound Design
10. Best Achievement in Cinematography
11. Best Achievement in Editing
12. Best Actress
13. Best Actor
14. Best Supporting Actress
15. Best Supporting Actor
16. Best TV Comedy
TV Soap/ Telenovela
17. Best Achievement in Directing
18. Best Achievement is Scriptwriting
19. Best Achievement in Original Music/Score
20. Best Achievement in Post Production
21. Best Achievement in Cinematography
22. Best Achievement in Wardrobe, Make-up & Hair
23. Best Achievement in Art/Production Design
24. Best Actress
25. Best Actor
26. Best Supporting actress
27. Best Supporting actor
28. Best TV Soap
29. Best TelenovelaTV Drama
30. Best Achievement in Directing
31. Best Achievement in Scriptwriting
32. Best Achievement in Editing
33. Best Achievement in Sound Design
34. Best Achievement in Original Music
35. Best Achievement in Art / Production Design
36. Best Achievement in Wardrobe/Costume Design
37. Best Achievement in Make-up & Hairstyling
38. Best Achievement in Cinematography
39. Best Actress
40. Best Actor
41. Best Supporting Actress
42. Best Supporting Actor
43. Best TV Drama presented by IDC

Documentary Feature
44. Best Achievement in Directing
45. Best Achievement in Cinematography
46. Best Achievement in Editing
47. Best Achievement in Sound Design
48. Best Documentary Feature
49. Best Documentary Short
50. Best Wildlife Programme
TV Non-fictional
51. Best Children’s Programme
52. Best Reality Show
53. Best Game Show
54. Best International Format Show
55. Best Factual &Educational Programme
56. Best Current Affairs Programme
57. Best Variety & Magazine Show
58. Best Youth Programme
59. Best Talk Show
60. Best Talk Show Host
61. Best Music Show
62. Best Made for TV Movie
63. Best Micro Budget Film

Feature Film
64. Best Achievement in Directing
65. Best Achievement in Scriptwriting
66. Best Achievement in Cinematography
67. Best Achievement in Sound Design
68. Best Achievement in Original Score
69. Best Achievement in Editing
70. Best Achievement in Production Design
71. Best Achievement in Costume Design
72. Best Achievement in Make-up & Hairstyling
73. Best Actress presented by McCafe
74. Best Actor presented by McCafe
75. Best Supporting Actress
76. Best Supporting Actor
77. Best Feature Film

Related Posts

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Send this to a friend